Tau Beta Pi at Virginia Tech


TBP Bent

Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, was established in 1885 at Lehigh University to honor those engineering students who distinguish themselves both by their scholarship and exemplary character. Notable members of Tau Beta Pi at Virginia Tech include former President Paul Torgersen, Richard Benson, the current Dean of the College of Engineering, and Dr. F. W. Stephenson, former Dean of the College of Engineering. The Virginia Beta chapter (Virginia Tech) organizes the College of Engineering's annual Open House, which attracts several hundred high school students. We also participate in service projects, intramural sports, conferences, and career-building activities.